Biology

 

 

 

NCTC offers biological science courses for both the science major as well as the non-science major. Most of our courses provide students with four hours of transferable credit and include a laboratory component (nutrition is our only three hour course and our only course that does not include a laboratory component). General biology, botany, environmental biology, and zoology are the courses most often taken for transferable credit to four-year universities. Anatomy and physiology as well as microbiology are required for associate of science degrees in allied health such as nursing, but are often used in transfer degree programs such as dental hygiene and kinesiology. Nutrition is accepted at NCTC as well as in many universities as a fitness and wellness course.

 

Courses Offered
 

 

BIOL1322

Basic Nutrition

BIOL1406 Biology for Science Majors I
BIOL1407 Biology for Science Majors II

BIOL1408

General Biology

BIOL1411

General Botany

BIOL1413

General Zoology

BIOL2401

Human Anatomy And Physiology I

BIOL2402

Human Anatomy And Physiology II

BIOL2406

Environmental Biology

BIOL2420

Microbiology

 

 

For additional information, please contact faculty

 listed below:

 

Belinda Anderson
Instructor
Phone: 940-872-4002 ext 5217
Office: Bowie - Room 132
Email: banderson@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Diana Avila
Instructor
Phone: 940-498-6201
Office: Corinth - Room 261
Email: davila@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Lisa Bellows
Instructor
Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4346
Office: Gainesville - Room 403A
Email: lbellows@nctc.edu

 

James Crump
Instructor
Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4308
Office: Gainesville - Room 405
Email: jcrump@nctc.edu

 

Susan Decker
Instructor
Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4345
Office: Gainesville - Room 408
Email: sdecker@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Sam Dunlap
Instructor
Flower Mound and Corinth Campuses
Phone: 940-498-6282, ext. 6229
Office: Corinth Room 351
Email: sdunlap@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Doug Elrod
Instructor
Phone: 940-498-6291
Office: Corinth Room 351
Email: daelrod@nctc.edu

 

Sherry Smith
Instructor
Phone: 940-668-7731, ext 4350
Office: Gainesville - Room 419
Email: sherrysmith@nctc.edu

 


Department of Science Home Page
Biology
Chemistry
Faculty & Staff

 

For additional Information, contact:

 

  

Dr. Doug Elrod
Chair, Department of Science

Phone: 940-498-6291
Office:  Corinth 351
Email: daelrod@nctc.edu

Wendy Perkins
Department Assistant
Phone: 940-668-4252
Office: Gainesville - Room 403
Email: wperkins@nctc.edu