NCTC News & Press Releases 



PTK honor society inducts newest members


by Darin Allred | May 05, 2014


North Central Texas College paid tribute to 56 students for outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship at the recent spring semester induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany and Japan.

Jill Swarner, advisor for NCTC’s award-winning Psi Iota chapter, said membership in PTK is by invitation only, extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

“We are very proud of these students for earning one of the highest distinctions that can be earned at our college for academic excellence,” said NCTC president Dr. Eddie Hadlock.

The spring induction ceremony was held on April 24 inside the library on the NCTC Corinth campus.

“I so enjoy working with these students in Phi Theta Kappa,” Swarner said. “It’s an honor to have them recognized for their academic success, and fulfilling to see them reach their goals through the scholarships and  leadership opportunities they get through PTK. We had a great group working on our Honors in Action and College Projects this year, and I’m looking forward to working with this new group of students.”

The ceremony ceremony included a keynote address by NCTC instructor Donna Hooper.

Spring 2014 Psi Iota officers include Vice President of Fellowship Riley Caughlin, Vice President of Scholarship Jenna Sembridge, Vice President of Service Alexander Vazquez, Vice President of Leadership Jeffrey Mills, Vice President of Membership Mary Daub, and Historian Patrick Moore.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees at NCTC, by hometown, included:

ARGYLE: Colton Katzen

AUBREY: Ginger Roberts

AZLE: Christi Reese, Slayton Vaughan

CORINTH: Jana Boland, Kimberly Gilmore, Floyd Louis

DENTON: Michelle Boulden, Jorge Cardona, Jarred Douthit, Stephanie Fuentes, Hannah Gillick, Jonathan Griffin, Blanca Hull, Amanda Mcewen, Tynicka Patrick, Thomas Relyea

DOUBLE OAK: Eva Senyonga

FLOWER MOUND: James Cumbest, Sara Miller, Molly Obryan, Bayley Richardson, Alexander Vasquez

FORT WORTH: Heather Lloyd

GAINESVILLE: Clifton Call, Jordan Dietz, Becky Davis, Rachel Fuhrmann, Samuel Leach, Lola Walter

GARLAND: Yasmin Ahmed

GRAHAM: Kristi Hamm, Bradley Rushin

GUNTER: Kimberly Bornschein

HIGHLAND VILLAGE:  Krystle Bartlett, Stacy Jensen, Sara Kluth

KRUGERVILLE: Madeline McReynolds

LAKE DALLAS: Austin Hammond, Tyler Wert

LAWTON: Lassine Konate

LEWISVILLE: Troy Baker, Kathy Bui, Reuben Fine, Numeriano Quemado

MUENSTER: Randi Lewis

MYRA: Samantha Gerngross

OAK POINT: Kimberly Wentrcek

PLANO: Meagan Serrano

SANGER: Jessica Gibson, Travis Gideon, Carolyn Hernandez, Nicole Wheat

VALLEY VIEW: Jamie Rauschuber, Lindsey Watson

WESTLAKE: Blair Croce

WYLIE: Meagan Richardson

The newest members of the Psi Iota Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, international honor society for community college students and the largest in American higher education, pose for their traditional group portrait following recent Spring 2014 induction ceremony at North Central Texas College. 

The officers for Spring 2014